Draxler: I might stay at Schalke beyond 2014

Julian Draxler has dismissed rumors that he will leave Schalke at the end of the 2013-14 campaign as he has yet to make a decision on his long term future.

The attacking midfielder has been linked with clubs such as Chelsea, Manchester City and Real Madrid in recent months, but he has stressed that he is keen to stay in the Bundesliga for the foreseeable future.

“I have read that I will definitely leave in 2014, but that’s nonsense. It’s by no means a certainty that I will stay at Schalke for just one more season,” Draxler, 19, told Bild.

“I am fully focused on the upcoming season for now and 2014 is still far away. If I receive some financially interesting offers again next year, I will sit down and evaluate what’s best for me.”

The Germany international reportedly turned down the chance to sign a five-year deal worth 12 million euros per year with one of the aforementioned three clubs this summer, but he has insisted that mo ney is not his biggest motivation.

“It’s difficult to even think about this kind of money. I have rejected the chance to earn a lot of money. But it’s not as if I have to live on bread and water here…,” Draxler continued.

“The sporting challenge is more important to me than the financial rewards. And Schalke are very important to me. Plus it was not a good time to switch clubs just one year before the World Cup. Even though I do not doubt my own qualities, there’s no guarantee that I’d be a regular at another club.”

Draxler’s contract with the Gelsenkirchen club runs until June 2018.

source : http://news.yahoo.com/draxler-might-stay-schalke-beyond-114800959–sow.html