Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday, August 9

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday:

– – – –

GOLF

PGA Championship

Golf-Furyk in control at Oak Hill, Tiger toils

ROCHESTER, New York – Jim Furyk and Adam Scott took advantage of rain-softened conditions to surge into a tie for the PGA Championship lead on Thursday as Tiger Woods double-bogeyed his final hole to finish six strokes adrift. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, Steve Keating and Frank Pingue, 650 words)

– – – –

TENNIS

Rogers Cup, Montreal (to 11)

Murray beaten by Gulbis in Montreal

MONTREAL – Andy Murray suffered his first defeat in nearly three months when he was beaten by Latvia’s Ernests Gulbis in the third round of the Rogers Cup. (TENNIS-MEN/MONTREAL (PIX), moved, by Tom Bartlett, 500 words)

– –

Rogers Cup, Toronto (to 11)

Serena Williams avenges Venus defeat by beating Flipkens

TORONTO – Top seed Serena Williams avenged her older sister’s defeat by Kirsten Flipkens with a 6-0 6-3 pounding of the Belgian to move into the quarter-finals of the Rogers Cup. (TENNIS-WOMEN/TORONTO, moved, by Matt Cronin, 400 words)

– – – –

BASEBALL

Tigers trounce Indians again

The rampant Detroit Tigers continued their sizzling streak with a dominating 10-3 win over the Cleveland Indians on Thursday. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, moved, 300 words)

– – – –

ATHLETICS

World championships, Moscow, Aug. 10-18

MOSCOW – We continue the build-up to the start of the world championships on Saturday. IAAF president Lamine Diack and IOC president Jacques Rogge hold a news conference from 0830 GMT. Britain’s former world 400 metres champion Christine Ohuruogu also speaks to the media (1000 GMT). (ATHLETICS-WORLD/ (PIX), expect by 0930 GMT / 5:30 AM ET by Mitch Phillips, Alison Wildey and Justin Palmer, 600 words)

– – – –

SOCCER

NZ coach Herbert to lay on pressure on young squad

WELLINGTON – New Zealand coach Ricki Herbert is going to put his young squad under immense pressure in forthcoming friendly matches as they continue their countdown to crucial world Cup playoffs in November. (SOCCER-WORLD/ZEALAND, expect at 0700/ 3:00 AM ET, by Greg Stutchbury, 650 words)

– –

BERNE – Arsenal, Schalke 04 and seven-times champions AC Milan are among the 20 teams who will go into the hat for the Champions League playoff round draw at UEFA headquarters in Nyon. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/DRAW (PIX, TV), expect by 1045 GMT/6:45 AM ET, by Brian Homewood, 300 words)

– –

Champions Bayern kick off their Bundesliga campaign

BERLIN – Treble winners Bayern Munich launch their Bundesliga title defence against Borussia Moenchengladbach.(SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT / 4:30PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

– – – –

RUGBY

Robinson axed, eight rookies in Wallabies squad

SYDNEY – New Australia coach Ewen McKenzie firmly put his own stamp on the Wallabies by including eight uncapped players in his 30-man squad for the Rugby Championship and dropping 59-cap prop Benn Robinson. (RUGBY-AUSTRALIA/, moved, by Nick Mulvenney, 500 words)

– –

Carter to take sabbatical

WELLINGTON – New Zealand flyhalf Daniel Carter considered playing overseas and spoke to Richie McCaw before deciding to take a six-month sabbatical from rugby to boost his chances of extending his career to the 2015 World Cup. (RUGBY-ZEALAND/CARTER, moved, by Greg Stutchbury, 400 words).

– –

McCaw to shake off rust against provinces

WELLINGTON – The All Blacks begin their Rugby Championship preparations with a trial match of 40 minutes each against provincial sides Wellington and Canterbury on Friday with captain Richie McCaw expected to play the entire 80 minutes. (RUGBY-ZEALAND, expect by 1000 GMT/ 6:00 AM ET, by Greg Stutchbury, 500 words)

– – – –

CRICKET

England v Australia, fourth test, County Durham (to 13)

CHESTER LE STREET, England – England, 2-0 up in the five-match encounter, have already clinched the Ashes and want to secure an outright series victory by winning the fourth test that starts on Friday. (CRICKET-ASHES/ (PIX), expect toss result and teams by 0940 GMT/5:40 AM ET, by Tony Jimenez, 400 words)

– – – –

(Asia duty editor: Ian Ransom; +61466151684)

source : http://news.yahoo.com/reuters-sports-schedule-0600-gmt-friday-august-9-055951349.html