Reuters Sports Schedule at 0001 GMT on Thursday, August 8

Reuters sports schedule at 0001 GMT on Thursday:

– – – –

ATHLETICS

World championships (Aug 10-18)

Athletes pour in ahead of world championships start

MOSCOW – The bulk of the Jamaican team will be speaking to the media as the build-up continues to the world athletics championships, which begin on Saturday. (ATHLETICS-WORLD/) Various stories throughout the day by Mitch Phillips, Justin Palmer and Alison Wildey).

SOCCER

Germany coach Joachim Loew names his squad for a friendly game against Paraguay next week with an eye on the World Cup in Brazil next year. (SOCCER-GERMANY/SQUAD, by Karolos Grohmann, expect by 1130, 350 words)

GOLF

PGA Championship

ROCHESTER, New York – (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect first story by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, Steve Keating and Frank Pingue, 400 words)

– – – –

TENNIS

Rogers Cup, Montreal (to 11)

MONTREAL – Wimbledon champion Andy Murray faces the talented but eratic Latvian Ernests Gulbis while Spaniard Rafael Nadal is confronted with imposing Pole Jerzy Janowicz in the third round of the Rogers Cup in Montreal. World number one Novak Djokovic is also in action against Uzbekistan’s Denis Istomin. (TENNIS-MEN-MONTREAL), expect by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, by Tom Bartlett, 500 words)

– –

Serena Williams in action at Toronto

Rogers Cup, Toronto (to 11)

World number one Serena Williams makes her first appearance at the women’s Rogers Cup in Toronto against former French Open champion Francesca Schiavone. (TENNIS-WOMEN/TORONTO, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, by Matt Cronin, 400 words)

– – – –

CRICKET

DURHAM – England captain Alastair Cook and Australian skipper Michael Clark hold news conferences on the eve of the fourth Ashes test. Australia must win it to keep alive their chances of drawing the five-match series. (CRICKET-ASHES/expect by 1500, by Tony Jimenez, 500 words)

– – – –

BASEBALL

Red Sox face Houston

The American League East division leaders Boston face the Houston Astros while in the National League, the World Series champion San Francisco Giants are at home against the Milwaukee Brewers in Major League Baseball. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 AM ET, 300 words)

– – – –

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0001 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

– – – – (Duty editor: Nick Mulvenney)

source : http://news.yahoo.com/reuters-sports-schedule-0001-gmt-thursday-august-8-000117528.html